DEPARTMENT OF GEOGRAPHY
216 Pearson Hall, Newark, Delaware 19716-2514
PHONE: 302-831-2294    FAX: 302-831-6654
Home   /   Department of Geography   /   People

People

Geography Faculty and Research Interests

Saleem Ali (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2000) environmental planning, conflict resolution, sustainability, industrial ecology, environmental security. saleem@udel.edu

Cristina L. Archer (Stanford University, 2004) Renewable energy; wind power; meteorology; climate change; air quality; numerical modeling of atmospheric processes. carcher@udel.edu

Afton Clarke-Sather (University of Colorado, 2012) Human-environment interactions; political ecology; water management and policy; climate policy; political geography; geography of international development; China. afton@udel.edu

Tracy DeLiberty (University of Oklahoma, 1993) Climatology; geographic information systems; remote sensing. tracyd@udel.edu

Cathleen Geiger (Dartmouth College, 1996) Sea ice surface processes and climate; non-rigid motion analysis; data analysis and computer visualization. cgeiger@udel.edu

Brian Hanson (University of Minnesota, 1985) Climate dynamics; glaciology. hanson@udel.edu

Paul S. B. Jackson (University of Toronto, 2011) Political ecology; urban geography; health geography; science and technology studies; environmental politics; historical geography. pjack@udel.edu

Daniel J. Leathers (The Pennsylvania State University, 1988) Snowfall and snow cover; water resource research; land surface changes and effects on regional climates; environmental monitoring; environmental policy; natural resource management. leathers@udel.edu

David R. Legates (University of Delaware, 1988) Hydroclimatology; precipitation and climate change; computational methods. legates@udel.edu

Delphis F. Levia (Clark University, 2000) Ecohydrology; biosphere-atmosphere interactions; biogeochemistry; field methods and instrumentation. dlevia@udel.edu

Lindsay Naylor (University of Oregon, 2014) Food and agriculture; critical and feminist geopolitics; economic development; Latin America. lnaylor@udel.edu

Sara Rauscher (University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2004) Regional climate science; regional climate change and variability; dynamical downscaling methods. rauscher@udel.edu

April R. Veness (University of Minnesota, 1984) Urban/social geography; minority problems and places; geographic thought. veness@udel.edu

Dana E. Veron (Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego, 2000) Climate change; offshore wind resource assessment; sea breeze circulation; land surface-atmospheric interactions; cloud-aerosol-radiation interactions; Arctic energy balance; surface radiative properties. dveron@udel.edu

Joint Faculty

John Byrne

Holly Michael

Mike O’Neal

Jim Pizzuto

Andrea Sarzynski

Tony Seraphin

Rodrigo Vargas

Jerry Kauffman

Emeritus Faculty

Edmunds Bunkse ebunkse@udel.edu

Frederick E. Nelson (University of Michigan, 1982) Permafrost; periglacial, and climatic geomorphology; spatial analysis; history of cryospheric research and American geography. fnelson@udel.edu

Thomas Meierding meierdng@udel.edu

Peter W. Rees (University of California, Berkeley, 1971) Urban geography; historical-economic geography; Latin America; geographic education. rees@udel.edu

Yda Schreuder (University of Wisconsin, 1982) Global resources, development and the environment; sustainable development; global climate change policies; international migration.
ydas@udel.edu

Cort J. Willmott (University of California, Los Angeles, 1977) Climatology; quantitative methods. willmott@udel.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Robert Scarborough

Nikolay Shiklomanov

Naomi Bates

Elsa Nickl

Adjunct Faculty

Terri Lavin

Gerri Miller

Mary Schorse

Amy Smith

William Cohen

Jonathan Daeden

Staff

Kevin Brinson, Director, DEOS 
Christina Callahan, Researcher, DEOS
Christopher Hughes, Applications Developer, DEOS
David Huntley, Meteorological Technician, DEOS 
Kenji Matsuura, Programmer/ Analyst 
Kaci Middlemas, Business Administrator
Sandy Raymond, Administrative Assistant II
Matthew Shatley, Computer Research Specialist

 

Discover Our World!

CEOE Honors Day 2017

Exceptional Graduate Students Recognized at Annual Honors Day

Philadelphia Food Justice

Undergraduate geography student joins quest for accessible healthy food

R/V Sharp on Mid-Atlantic Mission

UD alumna among scientists aboard R/V Sharp for USGS-led expedition on Mid-Atlantic methane seeps

Helga Huntley

Tracking ocean pollution

Uncovering new clues about how oil, other pollutants move in ocean
James Heiss

Water mixing zone

Studying reactions that occur when groundwater, saltwater meet in coastal aquifers
Asia Dowtin

Stemflow study

Investigating how rainwater travels in urban forests

Make a Gift - Donate to UD

 

CEOE School & Departments

School of Marine Science & Policy

Advancing the understanding, stewardship, and conservation of estuarine, coastal, and ocean environments.

Learn More
Department of Geological Sciences

Discovering how geological processes have operated over various time scales to create and influence the planet’s surface environments.

Learn More
Department of Geography

Investigating the interactions between people and the environment and the processes that explain the location of human and natural phenomena.

Learn More


College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment • 111 Robinson Hall • Newark, DE 19716 • USA
Phone: 302-831-2841 • E-mail: ceoe-info@udel.edu

Back to Top