Home   /   Our People   /   Profiles   /   luther   /   Luther Former Students and Post Docs

Former Students and Post Docs of Dr. George Luther

Below is a listing of former students and former post-docs who served under the advisement of Dr. George Luther.

Former Students

Elizabeth Tsamakis, Oceanography (M.S., 1991), Laboratory Coordinator, Dept. of Oceanography, University of Washington, Seattle, WA.  elitsa143@yahoo.com

Joel Kostka, Marine Biosciences (Ph.D., 1992), Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Biology & Earth & Atmospheric Science. Atlanta, GA.  joel.kostka@biology.gatech.edu

Stephen Skrabal, Oceanography (Ph.D., 1993), Assistant Department chair and Professor, Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of North Carolina, Wilmington, NC.  skrabals@uncwil.edu

Caroline Burkhard, Oceanography (M.S., 1994), Laboratory Instructor, Chemistry Department, Swarthmore College.  cburkha1@swarthmore.edu

Timothy Ferdelman, Oceanography (Ph.D., 1994), Research Scientist and leader of the Research Group on biogeochemistry, Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Germany.  tferdelm@mpi-bremen.de

Paul Brendel, Analytical Chemistry (Ph.D., 1995), Honors Chemistry Teacher, Ward Melville High School, 380 Old Town Road, East Setauket, NY.

Jingfeng Wu, Oceanography (Ph.D., 1995), Associate Professor, University of Miami, Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Chemistry, 4600 Rickenbacker Causeway Miami, FL.  jwu@rsmas,miami.edu

Stephen Theberge, Analytical Chemistry (Ph.D., 1999), Associate Professor and Chair Chemistry Department, Merrimack College, N. Andover, MA.  theberges@merrimack.edu

David Ruppel, Oceanography (M.S., 1999), Ball Aerospace, Boulder, CO.  druppel@ball.com

Jeannette Popp, Oceanography (M.S., 1999), Aquatic Scientist, Anchor Environmental, Oakland, CA.

Anna Farrenkopf, Oceanography (Ph.D., 2000), Eco Chemie B.V., Kanaalweb 29/G, 3526 KM Utrecht, The Netherlands.  anna@ecochemie.nl

Brian Glazer, Marine Biosciences (Ph.D., 2004), Associate Professor, University of Hawaii, Department of Oceanography, 205 Marine Sciences Bldg., 1000 Pope Rd. Honolulu, HI.  glazer@hawaii.edu

Robert Trouwborst, Oceanography (Ph.D.,2006), Research Scientist Geochemistry, Deltares Institute.  robert.trouwborst@tno.nl

Shufen "Sophie" Ma, Oceanography (Ph.D, 2006). Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Earth and Planetary Science, University of California-Berkeley.  sfma@berkeley.edu

Tommy Moore, Oceanography (Ph.D., 2008) Pacific Islands Global Ocean Observing System Officer, Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme.  tsmoore@imedea.uib-csic.es

Katherine M. Mullaugh, Analytical chemistry (Ph.D., 2009) Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, College of Charleston.  mullaughkm@cofc.edu

Mustafa Yücel, Oceanography (Ph.D., 2009) Assistant Professor, Middle East Technical University (METU), Turkey. muyucel@metu.edu.tr

Andrew Madison, Oceanography, (Ph.D, 2012) Staff Geochemist, Golder Associates, Inc. Mt. Laurel, New Jersey  Andrew_Madison@golder.com

Heather Nees, Oceanography, (M.S. 2009) Lab Technician, Iams Pet Care, Lewisburg, OH.

David Chu, Analytical Chemistry (M.S., Chemistry 2013) Lockheed Martin.  daived@gmail.com

Amy Gartman, Oceanography (Ph.D., 2013) Postdoctoral Researcher, U.S. Geological Survey, Santa Cruz. agartman@usgs.gov

Alyssa Findlay, Oceanography (2015) Postdoctoral Scholar, Center for Geomicrobiology, University of Aarhus, Aarhus, Denmark. afindlay@bios.au.dk

Veronique Oldham, Oceanography (2017) Postdoctoral Scholar, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute. voldham@whoi.edu

 

Former Post-Docs

Charoenkwan Kraiya, Assistant Professor, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand.  kraiya@hotmail.com.

Karen Perry, Associate Professor, Okanagan University College, Chemistry Department, Ohanagan, British Columbia, Canada.  karen.perry@ubc.ca

Brent Lewis, Associate Professor, Coastal Carolina University, Marine Science Department.   blewis@coastal.edu.

Martial Taillefert, Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, Atlanta, Georgia.   mtaillef@eas.gatech.edu

Gregory K. Druschel, Associate Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, Indiana University -Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI).  gdrusche@iupui.edu

Amy Witter, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, Dickinson College.   witter@dickinson.edu

Heileen Hsu-Kim, Associate Professor, Duke University, Civil and Environmental Engineering Department.  hsukim@duke.edu.

Edouard Metzger, Associate Professor, University of Angers, France, Geology Department (Ph.D., Université Denis Diderot-Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris).  edouard.metzger@univ-angers.fr.

Tim Rozan, Director, Ontario Hockey Academytimrozan@yahoo.com

Jeffrey Tsang, Research Scientist (Environmental Chemist) at Australian Institute of Marine Science Casuarina, Australia (Ph.D., Northern Territory University, Darwin, Australia).   J.Tsang@aims.gov.au.

Tim Waite, chemistry and Physics Teacher, Headington School, Oxford, England.  tjwaite@ukonline.co.uk.

Rebecca Holyoke, Policy Analyst, National Marine Sanctuaries program (National Ocean Service, NOAA).   rebecca.holyoke@noaa.gov.

Michael McGinley, Milford High School Biology Teacher, mpm312@gmail.com

Matthew Siebecker, Research Scientist, University of Delaware, mgs@udel.edu

Discover Our World!

Research Teams Have Strong Pull for Undergrads

UD marks 30 years in national undergrad research program

Study Abroad Faculty Director of the Year

UD faculty invited to propose Winter Session study abroad programs

UD Tapped for Offshore Wind Initiative

Leveraging long history in offshore wind as part of Gov. Carney’s new working group

Helga Huntley

Tracking ocean pollution

Uncovering new clues about how oil, other pollutants move in ocean
Asia Dowtin

Stemflow study

Investigating how rainwater travels in urban forests
horseshoe crab

Horseshoe Crabs and Artificial Bait

We are working to identify chemoattractants in horseshoe crabs and produce an artificial bait, reducing the reliance on horseshoe crabs in the eel and conch fisheries.

Make a Gift - Donate to UD

 

CEOE School & Departments

School of Marine Science & Policy

Advancing the understanding, stewardship, and conservation of estuarine, coastal, and ocean environments.

Learn More
Department of Geological Sciences

Discovering how geological processes have operated over various time scales to create and influence the planet’s surface environments.

Learn More
Department of Geography

Investigating the interactions between people and the environment and the processes that explain the location of human and natural phenomena.

Learn More


College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment • 111 Robinson Hall • Newark, DE 19716 • USA
Phone: 302-831-2841 • E-mail: ceoe-info@udel.edu

Back to Top