DEPARTMENT OF GEOGRAPHY
216 Pearson Hall, Newark, Delaware 19716-2514
PHONE: 302-831-2294    FAX: 302-831-6654
Home   /   Department of Geography   /   People

People

Geography Faculty and Research Interests

Saleem Ali (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2000) environmental planning, conflict resolution, sustainability, industrial ecology, environmental security. saleem@udel.edu

Cristina L. Archer (Stanford University, 2004) Renewable energy; wind power; meteorology; climate change; air quality; numerical modeling of atmospheric processes. carcher@udel.edu

Tracy DeLiberty (University of Oklahoma, 1993) Climatology; geographic information systems; remote sensing. tracyd@udel.edu

Jing Gao (University of Wisconsin - Madison, 2013) geospatial data science, machine learning, uncertainty analysis and modeling, social dimensions of global environmental change, urban land cover land use change, spatial population studies. jinggao@udel.edu 

Cathleen Geiger (Dartmouth College, 1996) Sea ice surface processes and climate; non-rigid motion analysis; data analysis and computer visualization. cgeiger@udel.edu

Brian Hanson (University of Minnesota, 1985) Climate dynamics; glaciology. hanson@udel.edu

Paul S. B. Jackson (University of Toronto, 2011) Political ecology; urban geography; health geography; science and technology studies; environmental politics; historical geography. pjack@udel.edu

Daniel J. Leathers (The Pennsylvania State University, 1988) Snowfall and snow cover; water resource research; land surface changes and effects on regional climates; environmental monitoring; environmental policy; natural resource management. leathers@udel.edu

David R. Legates (University of Delaware, 1988) Hydroclimatology; precipitation and climate change; computational methods. legates@udel.edu

Delphis F. Levia (Clark University, 2000) Ecohydrology; biosphere-atmosphere interactions; biogeochemistry; field methods and instrumentation. dlevia@udel.edu

Pinki Mondal (University of Florida, 2011) Remote sensing; GIS; environmental geography; land cover and land use change, agriculture, food security, climate impact. mondalp@udel.edu

Lindsay Naylor (University of Oregon, 2014) Food and agriculture; critical and feminist geopolitics; economic development; Latin America. lnaylor@udel.edu

Sara Rauscher (University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2004) Regional climate science; regional climate change and variability; dynamical downscaling methods. rauscher@udel.edu

April R. Veness (University of Minnesota, 1984) Urban/social geography; minority problems and places; geographic thought. veness@udel.edu

Dana E. Veron (Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego, 2000) Climate change; offshore wind resource assessment; sea breeze circulation; land surface-atmospheric interactions; cloud-aerosol-radiation interactions; Arctic energy balance; surface radiative properties. dveron@udel.edu

Joint Faculty

John Byrne

Holly Michael

Matthew J. Oliver

Mike O’Neal

Jim Pizzuto

Andrea Sarzynski

Tony Seraphin

Rodrigo Vargas

Jerry Kauffman

Emeritus Faculty

Edmunds Bunkse ebunkse@udel.edu

Frederick E. Nelson (University of Michigan, 1982) Permafrost; periglacial, and climatic geomorphology; spatial analysis; history of cryospheric research and American geography. fnelson@udel.edu

Thomas Meierding meierdng@udel.edu

Peter W. Rees (University of California, Berkeley, 1971) Urban geography; historical-economic geography; Latin America; geographic education. rees@udel.edu

Yda Schreuder (University of Wisconsin, 1982) Global resources, development and the environment; sustainable development; global climate change policies; international migration.
ydas@udel.edu

Cort J. Willmott (University of California, Los Angeles, 1977) Climatology; quantitative methods. willmott@udel.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Robert Scarborough

Nikolay Shiklomanov

Naomi Bates

Elsa Nickl

Afton Clarke-Sather

Nancy Boyer

Adjunct Faculty

Terri Lavin

Gerri Miller

Mary Schorse

William Cohen

Staff

Kevin Brinson, Director, DEOS 

Christina Callahan, Associate Director, DEMAC

Jill Ciabottani, Administrative Assistant

Christopher Hughes, Applications Developer, DEOS

David Huntley, Meteorological Technician, DEOS 

Kenji Matsuura, Programmer/ Analyst 

Kaci Middlemas, Business Administrator

Sandy Raymond, Administrative Assistant II

Matthew Shatley, Computer Research Specialist

James Simkins, Applications Programmer 

 

Discover Our World!

Ocean Warming

UD’s Yan discovers new pathway for heat transport in the ocean.
Exterior of Ettersburg Castle, site of ecohydrology workshop

International Ecohydrology Workshop

UD students and experts consider first steps in research to address world water crisis.
Hugh R. Sharp Research Vessel

Sharp Ship

UD’s Hugh R. Sharp research vessel used in diverse studies throughout the Atlantic.
Helga Huntley

Tracking ocean pollution

Uncovering new clues about how oil, other pollutants move in ocean
Asia Dowtin

Stemflow study

Investigating how rainwater travels in urban forests
horseshoe crab

Horseshoe Crabs and Artificial Bait

We are working to identify chemoattractants in horseshoe crabs and produce an artificial bait, reducing the reliance on horseshoe crabs in the eel and conch fisheries.

delaware first button

 

CEOE School & Departments

School of Marine Science & Policy

Advancing the understanding, stewardship, and conservation of estuarine, coastal, and ocean environments.

Learn More
Department of Geological Sciences

Discovering how geological processes have operated over various time scales to create and influence the planet’s surface environments.

Learn More
Department of Geography

Investigating the interactions between people and the environment and the processes that explain the location of human and natural phenomena.

Learn More


College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment • 111 Robinson Hall • Newark, DE 19716 • USA • Phone: 302-831-2841
Geography: 302-831-2294 • Geology: 302-831-2569 • Marine Science and Policy: 302-645-4212 • E-mail: ceoe-info@udel.edu

Back to Top