Home   /   Department of Geological Sciences   /   About


The Department of Earth Sciences has an excellent faculty with research strengths in coastal and marine geology and geophysics, surface processes and geomorphology, hydrogeology, geomicrobiology, geoarcheology, Quaternary geology, petrology, paleobiology and micropaleontology, and geochemistry.

The Department offers undergraduate and graduate degrees that emphasize opportunities for education and research in the classroom, laboratory, and in the field. We currently offer B.A. and B.S. degrees in geology, and a B.A. degree in earth science education. We also participate in the environmental science B.S. program, which offers 10 different concentrations. We offer M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in geology and advise students in interdisciplinary graduate programs such as the Water Science and Policy Program. We typically have 50 to 60 undergraduate majors and 25 to 30 graduate students in the program.

Career opportunities for geology graduates abound in understanding geologic hazards and in exploring for and efficiently using land, water, energy, and mineral resources. These careers require knowledge of the geological, biological, chemical, and physical processes above, on, and below the earth’s surface. Our teaching and research emphasize how these processes operate through time to shape our planet’s surface and near surface environment.

Department History

An undergraduate program in geology was established at the University in 1958 by the staff of the Delaware Geological Survey. In 1961, the Geology Department became a separate entity; however, the director of the survey remained a half-time faculty member. The graduate program (M.S. and Ph.D.) was established in 1968. The Geology Department and the Delaware Geological Survey (DGS) shared Penny Hall from 1969 until 1989 when the new DGS building, immediately adjacent to Penny Hall, was completed. Penny Hall currently houses all faculty, staff, and graduate student offices, two teaching laboratories, eight research laboratories, three classrooms, and the Mineralogical Museum. In 2006, the department joined the College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment as the Department of Geological Sciences. In 2019, the department's name was changed to the Department of Earth Sciences.

Learn more about the history of the college:

CEOE School & Departments

School of Marine Science & Policy

Advancing the understanding, stewardship, and conservation of estuarine, coastal, and ocean environments.

Learn More
Department of Earth Sciences

Discovering how geological processes have operated over various time scales to create and influence the planet’s surface environments.

Learn More
Department of Geography and Spatial Sciences

Providing a unique spatial perspective that seeks to explain patterns of differences and commonality across the human and natural environment.

Learn More

College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment • 111 Robinson Hall • Newark, DE 19716 • USA • Phone: 302-831-8062
Geography and Spatial Sciences: 302-831-2294 • Earth Sciences: 302-831-2569 • Marine Science and Policy: 302-645-4212 • E-mail: ceoe-info@udel.edu

Back to Top